Pensacola Discussion Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This is a forum based out of Pensacola Florida.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Stories from those unfortunate enough to live inside of the republican policy petri dish (Kansas)...

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

boards of FL

boards of FL

http://www.marysvilleonline.net/articles/2015/02/12/opinion/doc54dbbc485b524113416116.txt

GOP 2016!  Subsidizing tax cuts for the 1% at the expense of K-12 education!  

Public schools deserve better

Guest column
By Carla Wolfe
Published:
Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:01 AM CST

I am a public school teacher in Kansas, and I am tired.

I am tired of working in a profession that is constantly belittled by politicians and pundits across the country. I am tired of constantly struggling to meet ever-expanding demands with ever-shrinking budgets. I am tired of being paid less than other workers with similar education and qualifications, simply because I chose to be a teacher.

Most of all, I am tired of feeling like my colleagues and I are the only ones who care about public education in Kansas. I am tired.

And as the 2015 legislative session marches onward, I am growing discouraged. Teachers were stripped of our due process rights in the last legislative session, placing many of us in a difficult position where we now hesitate to advocate strongly for our students because we fear losing our jobs.

In this legislative session, bills have been introduced to significantly limit the collective bargaining rights of teachers and to allow criminal prosecution of teachers for presenting material deemed “harmful to minors.” Add in Kansas’ ongoing budget problems that have already cut K-12 budgets back to levels not seen since the early 1990s and a governor who wants to raid public employee retirement funds to balance the budget and I am discouraged.