Pensacola Discussion Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This is a forum based out of Pensacola Florida.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Law and Justice

+4
Yella
Hospital Bob
Markle
Sal
8 posters

Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 3]

1Law and Justice Empty Law and Justice 6/19/2012, 11:40 am

Can someone with a bit more knowledge of the law tell me why a person would be sentenced to life in prison plus 120 years?

I was watching a program yesterday on TV and this guy had raped and killed 3 women. When he was tried and convicted, the judge sentenced him to life without parole plus an additional 120 years.

What purpose does the additional 120 years serve?

2Law and Justice Empty Re: Law and Justice 6/19/2012, 11:54 am

Sal

Sal

I am not a lawyer, but my understanding is that judges do this because more than one crime was committed, and they feel the need to demonstrate that the lesser crimes were not forgotten. My guess would be that the dude was sentenced to LWOP for the murders and 40 years each for the rapes.

3Law and Justice Empty Re: Law and Justice 6/19/2012, 1:01 pm

salinsky wrote:I am not a lawyer, but my understanding is that judges do this because more than one crime was committed, and they feel the need to demonstrate that the lesser crimes were not forgotten. My guess would be that the dude was sentenced to LWOP for the murders and 40 years each for the rapes.

Thanks, that makes sense.

4Law and Justice Empty Re: Law and Justice 6/19/2012, 1:11 pm

Markle

Markle

Minimum sentencing requirements could also be a factor.

More importantly, it would seen that if one charge was over thrown on appeal or a technicality, the other sentences would still be in place. This is obviously someone whom anyone who knows about, think should never be allowed back on the streets.

5Law and Justice Empty Re: Law and Justice 6/19/2012, 1:28 pm

Hospital Bob