Pensacola Discussion Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This is a forum based out of Pensacola Florida.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Firefighters look for fatalities in rubble of wildfires

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

no stress

no stress

http://www.pnj.com/article/20120629/NEWS01/120629003/Colorado-wildfires-largest-in-history-causes-tens-of-thousands-to-flee?odyssey=tab|topnews|text|FRONTPAGE

This is the worst part of the job. After gearing up and working for hours someone comes up and tells the IC that a loved one is missing and they think that he/she was home. Back in you go with a pike pole and flat shovel and spend more hours digging and probing until you can give the family closure. God bless my brothers out west.

I was a volunteer firefighter and went to a trailer fire early one Christmas morning. The trailer was a total loss. And there was a teenage boy that died in a pose like he was trying to get out of his bed. THAT image is one I'll never forget.

So sad.

I hope they don't find people in the rubble.

My best friend from the Army was a Fireman in Emporia Kansas. He found me a job at Didde Glaaser and my wife and I moved up there for a couple of years. He quit for that very reason. Looking for people really took a toll on him. Like I have said many many times before, Firemen are very special people. I also will remember them in my quiet time.

no stress

no stress