Pensacola Discussion Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This is a forum based out of Pensacola Florida.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Veterans day

+5
Floridatexan
ZVUGKTUBM
Hospital Bob
Sal
Hallmarkgard
9 posters

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 2]

1Veterans day Empty Veterans day 11/11/2015, 10:49 am

Hallmarkgard

I am a Veteran. Now that it is over, a proud Veteran . For many of us being in the Military was a rite of passage. It changed me. I was never the same after spending 4 years in the Army. I did not really want to go , I did not have much of a choice. I received my draft notice so I went ahead and joined.

I had a lot of good times and a lot of bad times. Basic training in South Carolina in January and February was not the ideal place to be. But I made it. I did what I was thought was impossible for a guy with Asthma and poor eye sight. I never gave it much of a thought. It was not an excuse. But I do smile when I hear of people who say they could not serve because they stuttered and were too short. LOL Tell that to my friends “Automatic Jack” and “Stubby” Green. Sleeping on bunk beds in a open bay with 30 other guys, bath rooms with no doors, pulling guard duty and working in the mess hall(KP) when you were very tired changed the way you looked at every thing.

But I was lucky. I went to Fort Devans, out side of Boston Massachusetts, for my Army schooling. It was a 26 week choice so I was able to enjoy what New England had to offer. I took trips, many to Boston, saw the Worlds fair in 64 in New York, and enjoyed much of the charm of the area. I was surprised. The people of the area was very nice to a real southern guy with out much money. They were good people, just like the folks back home