Pensacola Discussion Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This is a forum based out of Pensacola Florida.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Paleo, Keto, etc

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Paleo, Keto, etc Empty Paleo, Keto, etc Sun Jun 17, 2018 8:24 pm

EmeraldGhost

EmeraldGhost

Anybody doing any of this stuff?

I've been eating paleo-ish for two years now & dropped 40 pounds without changing my activity level much   (had put on some weight since I retired)  I'm lean-n-mean again!

I'm not extreme though ... I just minimize my empty carbs and starchy foods; eat good meats and lots of fresh veggies and some fruits.  I don't like my cooked veggies overcooked either and I like all kinds of raw veggies.  I avoid highly processed foods when I can and I'm a real hawk about sugar in my foods.  I don't do much dairy though, never really have, except small amounts of good cheeses here & there.  I love me some good cheese once in awhile.  I do cook with butter too.  Or olive oil.  I cut the vegetable oils out as much as I can.  No margarines either.  And I avoid soy.

I'm pretty skeptical about the whole "keto" thing though ... I know some people on it.  Seems kind of extreme and unnatural to me.  Not to mention probably pretty hard to sustain as a permanent diet.  Why would you want to put your body in a permanent state of ketosis?  Ketosis is what they used to monitor our long-term criminal Mariel Cuban detainees the BOP used to keep for us when they would go on a hunger strike so they would know when to force/tube feed them.

2Paleo, Keto, etc Empty Re: Paleo, Keto, etc Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:34 pm

Floridatexan

Floridatexan

EmeraldGhost wrote:Anybody doing any of this stuff?

I've been eating paleo-ish for two years now & dropped 40 pounds without changing my activity level much   (had put on some weight since I retired)  I'm lean-n-mean again!